Making It Work

I have been slacking on my home duties since Little W was born.  It wasn’t a planned escape, but I couldn’t figure out how to do my old schedule and have a little babe.  I attempted to do the best I could, but often felt as if I didn’t have enough hours in the day.  By night I was exhausted, and wasn’t getting much sleep.  A few weeks ago the household got sick, which put me really behind.  I lived in a messy house for a few days, just trying to keep up with the day to day grind of dishes, laundry, and food.  I knew I needed a new way of doing things.

Last Sunday was a breakthrough!  Little W has gotten to the stage where she is quite content to sit in her swing or listen to music and talk to herself.  I have gotten to the stage where I don’t feel as if I need to be in the same room with her the entire time she is awake.  (I think this development is more mine than hers.)  All day Sunday I cleaned and scrubbed and vacuumed.  Little W was content and I was making a clean house.  It was a great day.  I always feel best when my home is clean and orderly.  I want to have people over.  I usually want to do more cleaning!  It is so much easier to tidy up a clean surface than to re-clean a cluttered and forgotten room.  I just need to keep up the clean.

Today’s post from Raising Homemakers really hits on this today.  It does talk a lot about being busy, which I would rather call being productive, since I can find myself being busy with lots of small tasks that don’t matter as much.  You can be busy and still feel like you accomplished nothing.  You can’t be productive and feel that way.

Orderliness, not perfection, is goal

I’m excited for this cleaning plateau, as it has brought some calm to this season of life.  I will enjoy it while it lasts, because I know as Little W develops my schedule will need to accommodate her growth.  It is just so nice to poke my head out of the sand!

Mrs. V

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

