Emulating God’s Artwork

A few nights ago I was up around 3AM.  I couldn’t really get back to bed, but I didn’t have anything in me to get up and do something.  Usually if I wait long enough, sleep finds me once again and I can slumber the rest of the night away.  In the dark my mind wanders, and I can find myself contemplating anything and everything.  Sometimes I think, If I don’t write this down now, I will forget it in the morning. And that has happened more times than I can count. (When I was younger I used to keep a notebook by my bedside to jot down the quick midnight thoughts.)  Even if I remember the thought I was having, it never seems as perfect or coherent (ahem) as it did at 3AM.  So bare with me.  Usually I scrap those crazy late night ideas and keep them inside.  For some reason, this one wants onto some paper (in this case digital form will do).  It is simply about the arts. And God. And everything that goes with it.

I come to this from a writer’s point of view, not as that of a painter or a musician.  The goal of a writer is to have a piece that is fully whole.  Whole characters, whole settings, and a storyline that is inter-weaved between the two.  If you can achieve this goal, your piece is to most likely be considered good literature.  It is a daunting task.  Everything must have its place.  The world must be complete (psychology, religion, culture,) and form from your beginning the exact way it should.  There is no meaningless happening.  Every stream created  flows to the larger body of water.  Here is an example.  In the Lord of The Rings the humans are characteristically like the humans of Earth, right?  They deal with the same evils and have the same issues.  They are skins searching for God.  Now this should not bother anyone really, because with all the other creatures to focus on there is little room to hate on the humans in this world.  But if you have read the Silmarillion (the history of creation and being of Middle Earth, which would have been used to create the scene), you would know that one ultimate God did not create Middle Earth and there was no messiah, therefore no longing for communion with the eternal. No struggle with evil in this sense.  The humans of Middle Earth could not have been like humans of our Earth.  They need to fit characteristically with their beginning and their salvation, however it will come about.  When I realized this it almost ruined everything for me. No joke. Anyways…

It had me thinking about how we emulate God in the arts.  God has weaved time in such a way that what he wants to happen will.  He created the first man with the last man in his mind, and weaved together a perfectly cohesive story.  Who am I?  I am the product of my parents, both nature and nurture, of a specific time and with specific circumstances, which perfectly coincide with EVERYONE ELSE in the world.  I fit into everyone’s story line as I meet them throughout the day.  I cut someone off at a red light?  That moment was meaningful.  Someone hits my dog on their way home late from work?  That moment was needed.  The mailman was two minutes late because he tied his shoe and I had a conversation about it with my husband that led us to talking about bills (I could go on)…  It blows my mind.  I want to do that.  I want to create something that fits as seamlessly and perfectly as what we are living.  I can come to tears with the art of writing that God displays every second (time as relative to living on the earth).

I often feel that as I am writing a short piece of fiction that I am pleasing God.  Not always specifically in what I am writing (say something specifically Christian) but in the fact that I am emulating one of  God’s art forms.  If not for that, than simply because every time I write I must stop a bit and think about the story that I am living out with every breath.  It is indeed awesome, as the word was intended to be used.

Mrs. V

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

