Holiday Food: Pumpkin Pudding Cake

As I am resting up from the holiday week and gathering my thoughts on what to write, I am going to add a few recipes I made.  I did not come up with this recipe, but I can not remember where I got it.  A magazine? Maybe. The internet? Probably.  All I remember is that I found it while working at the Life Center, and I wrote it down in my little mead notebook.

Pumpkin Pudding Cake

6 eggs

1 12oz can of evaporated milk

1.5 cups of sugar

30 oz of pumpkin

1t ginger

1t nutmeg

2t cinnamon

1 stick of butter

1 box of yellow cake mix (these are so cheap now! I find them 10/$10)

Mix all of the ingredients but the dry cake mix and butter.  Pour into greased 9×13 pan.  Cut the butter into the dry cake mix until crumbly, then spoon on top.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes. Easy!

The bottom of this “pudding” is just like pumpkin pie.  The top soaks in some and browns some so it is a soft topping.  I felt that I may have had too much topping, since some stayed the same consistency even after baking (powder, able to be shook off).  I had left overs to take home and it sat in the fridge for a day or two before our other guests got to it.  By then it had really melded together and was even better.  I recommend serving it with ice cream or whipped cream.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

