Show Us Your Life – Beauty Tips

I am participating in Kelly’s Korner Show Us Your Life Fridays, this one being “What are your beauty tips?”

I live pretty simply in this area so I will just let you know that if something works I just keep doing it.  I have been using Fragrance Free Liquid Neutrogena as face wash for years and love it.  I can get it at Wal-Mart for about $8 and it lasts a very long time. It is gentle, has no smell, and I have even used it as a full body soap on occasion. I also use Equate brand Apricot Scrub when my face is needing a bit of exfoliation. It is around $2.50. I don’t use it every time I wash my face, just when I need it.  Both of these products are used by my husband as well which saves money and space in our shower.

I love Lush products and if I could afford it would probably use only them.  I do keep a little jar of Handy Gurugu around for my hands which need it especially in the winter. It is around $17.  I also use it on Little W.  She had very dry cheeks in the beginning of winter and I put just a bit of this on each cheek at night and her dry skin was gone in a few days (we are talking practically eczema). The stores aren’t everywhere, in fact there is only one “store” in Indiana and it just happens to be in a Macy’s about 15 minutes from us. So you might have to buy online only. My mom uses their solid shampoo and loves it.

If I could recommend one thing it would be to start washing your hair less! It has taken time, but I can wash my hair every other to every two days and it still is manageable.  I have thin, very fine hair that can get oily easy.  You have to go through a transition though.  Washing your hair strips it of it’s natural oils, so then your hair makes more oil.  When you are starting to wash less you hair will still make the oil to compensate for washing at first.  But your scalp does adapt and your hair will be so healthy.  I use cheap shampoo (Suave, 2 in 1’s) but only twice or three times a week.  Every time I go to the salon for a cut the lady always tells me I have great hair and asks what kind of products I use.  They always look at me funny when I say “Pert 2-in-1” or something to that extent.  I used to color my hair but haven’t in years, and I only blow dry and straighten once a week. I know to some people that is nuts but it has worked for me now… especially since I get very little personal shower time anyway!

Looking forward to other tips!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Show Us Your Life – Beauty Tips

  1. I think this is a really good product too and have used it in the past. Thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

