11 Months of Nursing: Part 2

This is a continuation of Part 1

 

Bringing on the Bottle

If you recall yesterday I said that for the second week of Little W’s life she drank from the bottle (sometimes we switched each feeding, but a majority of that week we used a little glass bottle with a simple nipple). She took to it with little issue and I was extremely relieved. Of course I heard the rumor that if a baby received a bottle too early they would not nurse well.  Although I am sure that started from some truth, it was not the case for us. We actually had the opposite problem, which I have been told by others is common.  After that brief time of healing, I went to nursing full time.  I did not need to return to my job until I wanted to, and a month later I started making trips for a few hours to take care of office work.  I was in the right position to set my own hours so I left when Little W needed food (which was enough time away from her I felt anyway).  After awhile though I really noticed that my job performance was lacking and knew I would need to pump in order to put in even 4 or 5 hours at the center.  Mr. V was open to bottle feeding her and so we were set. No problem, right?

I received many calls from an exasperated husband in those first few weeks.  She would not take milk from the original bottle anymore.  She cried for him and would not be consoled.  It came to the point where I would drive/walk home for 30 minutes to nurse and then go back to get another 2-3 hours of work in before another feeding.  During this time we tried a few different bottles, even finally buying a plastic one.  This plastic bottle was the only one that seemed to work.  It was a Breastflow brand and she seemed okay with drinking from it most of the time. But bottle feeding was a pain compared to nursing.  You had to get out the pump, you had to clean the parts, you had to store milk (and clean bottles, lids, etc.)  Nothing was as simple as just sitting down and nursing. Even though I had to revolve my work schedule around it, in the end it was quicker.  When I stopped working at the center we stopped using the bottle. I’ve pumped once in the last 3 months and that was so I could go out of town to try on bride’s maid dresses.

Teething

I brought up the nursing with teeth concern here back in August and did get some helpful replies (thanks ladies).  Since that time Little W has added 6 teeth and has held steady to that amount since December. Yep, 8 teeth since then – and we kept on nursing.  And after stifling the attempts to bite while just harboring the first two teeth, Little W has only “nipped” me once since then, and it didn’t even hurt – it actually just shocked me because I had forgotten that she held the control to bite me.  What I did do that worked was every time Little W bit down on me, I pulled her off, put my finger on her two little cute teeth and said in a very serious tone, “No, no.” I then waited a minute and put her back on.  This worked after a few times, and she no longer tested the waters with a little bite.   There was still the fear of a serious chomp down, so I took preventative measures by not letting her just leisurely drink anymore. When a babe is nursing they are not able to bite because their tongue is in the way.  So she was biting when she was just causally interested, and once I took her off when she was no longer drinking consistently, the biting stopped.

Time also was a huge factor.  Once these things were set in place she pretty much lost interest in biting and I have pretty much forgotten that she could.  I don’t really think about it anymore as she nurses. I know most babies get their first teeth around 6-7 months and that is when mothers really start to consider switching over to formula.  You do not need to fear those little teeth, you can continue nursing without the fear of being bit.  Just stay consistent and watch for the signs of boredom (so you don’t become a teether).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “11 Months of Nursing: Part 2

  1. Pingback: 11 Months of Nursing: Part 1 « Suddenly Mom

  2. Pingback: 11 Months of Nursing: Part 3 « Suddenly Mom

Leave a Reply

