Drop Sugar Cookies

My poor husband called in sick today- he spent most of his time on the couch just feeling lousy or attempting to ward off boredom by making 16-bit video games on the computer. (Have I mentioned that I have some practice in voice acting? Uh-hum.)  Well in good wifely fashion I decided to cheer him up- by doing something that seems to cheer me up! I baked cookies. These sugar cookies require no rolling, no cutting, no special ingredients.  They can bring sweet smelling aroma from your oven with minimal work and ingredients.  That is my kind of every-day baking!

Cast of Characters:

1 1/4 cup white sugar-1 cup butter-3 egg yolks-1 teaspoon vanilla –2 1/2 cups all purpose flour-1 teaspoon baking soda-1/2 teaspoon cream of tarter**

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Let your butter soften (I sit mine on top of the stove while the oven preheats and it quickens the process!)  Grease your cookie sheet with preferred greasing agent.  Cream together sugar and butter.  Beat in your egg yolks and vanilla.  Add your flour, baking soda, and cream of tarter.  Roll dough into walnut size balls and place them on the sheet 2 inches apart (do not flatten).  Bake for 10-11 minutes, until the tops are slightly browned and crack. Makes roughly 2 dozen.

These cookies are sweet and require no frosting!  They are crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle.

** I had no cream of tarter, but it turns out you can substitute cream of tarter with baking soda for baking powder.  The conversion is 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon of cream of tarter equals 1 teaspoon of baking powder.  If you have left over baking soda in your recipe you just use what is remaining.  In this case, I ended up using 1 teaspoon of baking powder with 3/4 teaspoon of baking soda.  The cookie turned out wonderful- but it will be nice to see if there is much of a difference using cream of tarter next time.

 

Hope you enjoy!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Drop Sugar Cookies

  1. Mmm, I love those crackled tops on your cookies. And thanks for the tip about the cream of tartar substitution. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-10.html

Leave a Reply

