Newest Laundry Soap Recipe

I’ve been making laundry soap for quite a while now, but I feel that I have finally found the best mix so far! Most of the recipes I’ve tried make clothes soft out of the dryer (no need for laundry softener here) but I notice a distinct difference with this one- they are even softer! I also know some people are loyal to Fels Naptha, but I could not get over the strong chemical smell of the bar (especially while grating). I’m pretty loyal to Ivory since I can use it in the bath and also on my clothes, and it is cheapest.

bloglaundrypowder

(Double batch that fits in a coffee can)
2 cups Borax
2 cups Washing Soda
2 cups Baking Soda
2 grated fine Ivory ALOE bars (the green ones)

You can put Ivory in the microwave cut in pieces and it will puff up (90 sec a bar) to make it easier to grate. I usually just chop it up some and put it in a Magic Bullet, but I know some grate it once out of the microwave, or some put it in a blender. Mix all together and use 1-2 tablespoons per load. The Aloe bar is a bit softer than regular Ivory, so I can cut it up with a kitchen knife easily and mix it with a fork.

If you are wondering where you can find these things- you can find them at most big-box stores. Our local Wal-Mart actually puts all of these items together in the laundry section (except the soap, which is in the soap section). Our Kroger makes you hunt a little more, but they are all there.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Newest Laundry Soap Recipe

  1. Lesa Schmidt

    I just stirred up some laundry soap a couple nights ago. I had to look up the recipe here on your site. I want to try this new one now. Thanks so much for sharing! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

